Tuesday, June 25, 2024

The story of three scientists who won the Nobel in Physics

three scientists who won the Nobel

Alain Aspect, John F. Clauser and Anton Zeilinger received the Nobel Prize in Physics for their research in quantum mechanics

Allen Aspect, John F. Clauser, and Anton Zillinger have been awarded the Nobel Prize in Physics for the year 2022 for their research in quantum mechanics. The Royal Swedish Academy of Sciences, the awarding body of the Nobel Prize for Physics and Chemistry, announced this on Tuesday, 4 October. Know here the story of the three scientists.

three scientists who won the Nobel

Alain Aspect

French scientist Alain Aspect is known for his experiments revealing the most intriguing properties of quantum mechanics. His Bells inequalities tests with pairs of entangled photons in 1982 contributed to the resolution of the disagreement between Albert Einstein and Nils Bohr that began in 1935.

Alain Aspect completed his graduation, post-graduation, and Ph.D. thesis from the Ecole Normale Supérieure (ENS) Cachan and Université d’Orsay in France. He has worked as a professor at the Institut d’Optique, ENS Yaoundé (Cameroon), ENS Cachan, ENS / Collège de France, and CNRS. He holds 7 doctoral degrees from institutions around the world including Canada, Australia, Ireland, Israel, the UK, and Hong Kong.

John F. Clauser

John Clauser, born in 1942 in California, USA, is an experimental physicist who researches interferometry and quantum theory. He won the Wolf Foundation Prize in Physics Field in 2010.

Anton Zeilinger

Anton Zillinger was born in 1945 in Austria and earned his doctorate from the University of Vienna in 1971. Anton Zillinger is a quantum physicist. Before this, he was awarded the first Isaac Newton Medal from the Institute of Physics (UK) in 2008. He is a Professor of Physics at the University of Vienna and a Senior Scientist at the IQOQI Institute for Quantum Optics and Quantum Information at the Austrian Academy of Sciences.

Award winners will get around Rs 7.3 crore

Last year, the Nobel Prize in Physics was awarded to three scientists – Soukuro Manebe, Klaus Hasselmann, and Giorgio Parisi – whose research has helped to explain and predict the complex forces of nature, expanding our understanding of climate change. Is.

Let us tell you that the announcement of the Nobel Prize for the year 2022 started on Monday, 3 October. Swedish scientist Svante Pabo has been awarded in the medical field for unraveling the mysteries of Neanderthal DNA, which has provided important insights for further understanding of the immune system.

All prize winners are awarded a cash prize of 10 million Swedish kronor (approximately $900,000/7.3 crores) which will be given on 10 December 2022. This prize money comes from a will left by Alfred Nobel, who died in 1895.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.